PURE Oil Jobbers Cooperative selects officers, welcomes new board members for 2008

Board gathering momentum in addressing issues critical to growing membership

The 2008 Officers of the PURE Oil Jobbers Cooperative, Inc. include (left to right): Secretary Davis Cosey, President Frank McNeill, Vice President Tim Allen, and Treasurer Larry Jones.

The 2008 Officers of the PURE Oil Jobbers Cooperative, Inc. include (left to right): Secretary Davis Cosey, President Frank McNeill, Vice President Tim Allen, and Treasurer Larry Jones.

(Rock Hill, SC) With a cooperative spirit to provide leadership for their fellow 340 oil jobbers and petroleum marketers, the 15 members of the PURE Oil Jobbers Cooperative, Inc. Board of Directors selected their officers and welcomed new board members at their first meeting of the year, held recently in Atlanta, Georgia.

The four members selected to lead the Co-op in 2008 are Frank McNeill, Jr. as President, Tim Allen as Vice President, Davis Cosey as Secretary, and Larry Jones as Treasurer. All four have extensive experience serving the Co-op as board members and on working committees. By accepting their respective roles this year, they will also begin to implement a resolution passed at the yearend annual meeting last November that calls for a rotating succession plan that will enable these officers to move up in their respective roles each year.

When not presiding over Co-op Board meetings, Frank McNeill is President of McNeill Oil Company in Aberdeen, North Carolina. McNeill Oil is a third generation family business, founded by McNeill’s grandfather and continued by his father, who is still active in the business as company CEO.

The founding of McNeill Oil Company dates back to the 1920’s, when McNeill’s grandfather was unloading the first loads of PURE product delivered in the state, as a branch manager for Ed Burt, who was the first president of the North Carolina Petroleum Marketers. Frank and his family’s McNeill Oil Company added the PURE brand again to their operations in 2001, when he first joined the Co-op.

Co-op Vice-President Tim Allen is Vice President of Allen Oil Company, based in Sylacauga, Alabama. Allen Oil is a fully integrated petroleum marketer, offering a complete line of products for customer needs in the industrial, commercial, automotive, agricultural, utilities, mining, manufacturing, food processing, and racing sectors. Allen has been with the PURE Co-op for 15 years, since its founding, and in addition to serving on the Board currently, he was a Board Member for three years during a previous tenure.

Co-op Secretary Davis Cosey is CEO of Davis Oil Company in Perry, Georgia. He has served on the Board of the PURE Co-op for five years, nearly as long as he has been a Co-op member and marketer of the PURE brand. He works with his three brothers at Davis Oil Company, which is a third generation family business with over 135 years of combined experience in the industry. Founded in 1946, Davis Oil Company provides quality fuels and lubricants to the Middle Georgia region.

Finally, Co-op Treasurer Larry Jones is a Board Member who is returning to a familiar role as a Co-op officer. Jones is President of Cougar Oil, Inc. in Selma, Alabama. He is an original member of the Co-op, dating back to its founding in 1993. Jones is also an original member of the Board of Directors, having served as the first elected President of the organization, when it was established 15 years ago as the Southeastern Oil Jobbers Cooperative, Inc. Cougar Oil is a wholesaler of petroleum products, serving all of Alabama and the Florida panhandle since 1971.

At its first quarterly meeting of 2008 in Atlanta, the PURE Oil Jobbers Cooperative also welcomed a few new additions to its 15-member policy board. Board Member Johnny Fair, vice president of Louisville/Fair Oil Company in Louisville, Mississippi and winner of the ‘Top 40 under 40’ honor of the Mississippi Business Journal, is a second generation Co-op Board Member, with his father having served in this capacity previously. Also joining Fair as first-time Board Members are Richard Brown, senior vice president of Sanders Oil Company in Columbus, Mississippi, and David Pitts, president of William-Pitts Oil Company in Cordele, Georgia.

Media contact: Dr. Chris Wood (770-757-1681, cell, OR jcwood@uga.edu, email)